jump to navigation

New Social Model: Between Popular and Personal September 4, 2006

Posted by John in Technology.
trackback

Ross Mayfield penned a great post.   Ross is the CEO of SocialText and one of the smartest guys in social media around.  The Internet 2.0 world it’s about new ways to understand user behavior that span the ranges that Ross talks about …. from mass communications to completely customized and from popular to personal.  

In his post Ross hopes that there are new products based upon the massively popular site Techmeme. Ross says he wants * Tools that let me personally personalize should give me just one more degree of interestingness and popularization.  * Tools of mass popularization should give me social popularization

Ross’s idea:  MeMeme.  He goes into detail…”Give me TechMeme where the core index is based on who I read, about 150 people at any given time, to show me what my friends are interested in.  I used to ask this from people who make Newsreaders.  Because simply somedays you are too busy to read everything, but you want to make sure you haven’t missed something big.  That’s the real value I derive from TechMeme today.  But what I really want find something that is big with my friends, which in the larger blogosphere is actually something small. “

Why I like this post is that it highlights something that I’ve been thinking about and working on for sometime now….that is algorithmic verses representational discovery and presentation systems/models.  To me and others working in the Internet 2.0 world it’s about new ways to understand user behavior that span the ranges that Ross talks about …. from mass communications to completely customized and from popular to personal.  

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

