jump to navigation

Is LinkedIn a Better Utility than Facebook? For Professionals “Advantage LinkedIn” March 3, 2008

Posted by John in social media.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I wrote a post over the weekend about how Facebook is becoming cluttered while the new LinkedIn is clean.  Today WebWorkerDaily has a post on the new LinkedIn.  Love the last line in the post “As long as LinkedIn never offers anything with the word “poke” or “wall,” maybe they’re on to something after all.”

I have been doing a lot of research on social networks and will be posting results soon.  One thing that I noticed in social networks, media, and groups is that that the most successful social media advertising or information connects virtual activities to the real world.  Recently my LinkedIn experience has been blowing away the utility value of Facebook.  It feels like a chore for me to work Facebook in order to connect to my real world relationships and activities.  At first Facebook worked great then it became littered with notice – very dirty communications.  Bottom line: it effected my productivity both on a personal and business level.

I have neighbors who work for Facebook and know a bunch of people over there so I hope this post can be taken as being constructive.  If Facebook founders want to be the best social utility on the planet then it has to be 1) simple, 2) elegant, and 3) easy to use.

For professionals I have to say ‘Advantage LinkedIn”

Comments»

1. Alan Wilensky - March 18, 2008

I find Facebook about as near to useless as any info product I have ever owned or used. I find LinkedIn far more utilitarian, however, after paying them some kind of fee, like 20 a month, I stopped, and used the free version – guess what? I can’t tell the difference.

2. Danny - January 16, 2009

There is something very polite about LinkedIn. It’s pleasant to use. Facebook is much less personal, which is strange, because it is supposed to be about friendships, and LinkedIn about money. But Facebook feels more robotic.

3. top mistakes - December 11, 2011

Your blog is really cool to me and your subject matter is very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of blog managers are doing these 5 BIG mistakes”. http://is.gd/HWKqeJ You will be suprised how easy they are to fix.

4. automatic dog door - August 7, 2013

I have read so many articles about the blogger lovers but this article is truly a good post, keep it
up.

5. bathroom rugs and Mats - August 7, 2013

Hello there folks, I am a bit of a home decorator lover.
I like never write a comment but I personally was looking over this page and I truly loved it.

It offers a handful of really great ideas for me to digest.
I have got to state, I’ve become lonely recently given that my best friend isn’t around.

Researching the online world gives me a tiny piece of mind though.
I’d love to thank you due to this marvelous web site blog which inturn can help pass on the word relevant to home decorators even more! I really was wondering if you provide rss list in order to remember to keep up-dated at this site.

6. zombie skin song on agt - August 8, 2013

Nice to be here folks, I am a zombie enthusiast. Howse it going?
I personally was discovering this write-up and absolutely
liked it. There is a few significantly nice
ideas that I can soak up. I have to bring up, I’ve ended up unhappy nowadays given that my bro no longer is with me. Looking around the web provides me with a bit of piece of mind . I’d
personally love to say thank you to you with this awesome on line article that helps to pass
the message involving zombies even more! I was curious
as to if you currently have rss list so I could
at all times keep updated on this page.

7. tag heuer carrera calibre 16 43mm day-date cv2a10.ba0796 - August 9, 2013

How’s things people, im somewhat of a watch junkie. I like never write a comment but I personally ended up discovering this article and so I absolutely liked it. There are quite a few sincerely great tips that I can digest. I have got to state, I’ve truly been lonely in recent months simply
because my brother is no longer here with me. Web browsing the web gives me a
tiny piece of mind though. I’d personally like to say thanks to you due to this really good web-based post in which helps to spread out the message in regard to watches even more! I personally was trying to figure out if you currently have rss subscriber list in order to routinely keep up-dated on this page.

8. setup private network - February 28, 2014

Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!
Very useful info particularly the last part :) I
care for such info much. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time.

Thank you and best of luck.

9. william kamdani - May 5, 2014

I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs
really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your
site to come back down the road. All the best


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

