jump to navigation

Tech Guru goes with Atom and Passes on RSS November 7, 2005

Posted by John in Technology.
trackback

Wow this is big news. I would love to have Dave Winer and John Patrick kick off the HyperCamp model (which I like) with a debate on RSS verses Atom. John Patrick is an incredible authority on technical trends so when he has something to say I pay attention as do many others.

I am extremely interested in how this plays out because some say the RSS spec is to loosely defined and other claim that Atom is more reliable.

How does this impact Microsoft, Yahoo, and others who are all betting on RSS?

  Picture1.jpg

Comments»

1. scott - December 9, 2005

Dave would never allow this type of discussion to happen at HyperCamp.

2. podtech - December 9, 2005

why do you say that scott.

3. scott - December 9, 2005

I say that because it is well known that Dave does not want Atom to succeed. He says that RSS 2.0 and Atom do the same thing and two formats would confuse the market. My take is that Dave fears that he would lose some of his ability to influence the blogosphere if his format loses market share.

If there were to be such a debate I would definitely show up for HyperCamp. Otherwise, I see it simply as a vehicle to promote Dave Winer. I’ve got better things to do with my time.


Leave a Reply

