jump to navigation

Twitter Fever – I’m cured March 16, 2007

Posted by John in Technology.
trackback

Twitter fever hits an all time high with this wall street journal piece. I had Twitter fever for a weekend due to Robert Scoble and the fast rise of popularity.  I had Twitter fever.  I’m over it now.  Why?  I don’t have a lot of time to ‘twit away’ all day.  Not that there is anything wrong with Twitter.  I see great possibilities in Twitter outside of the early adopters.  In fact I think that it’s perfect for audiences that are hooked on SMSing. 

My biggest problem with Twitter is that in its current form it’s a ‘feature’ not a product company.  If I’m Evan Williams I’d be moving quickly to build a plaform and/or partner with a social network platform.  Otherwise Twitter will be a ghost town.

Update:   Andrew Lavallee of the Wall Street Journal gets slammed by Dave Winer points out that WSJ has their head in the sand by how they portrayed Tara Hunt.  Dave says that they portray her as a bitch the way that they write… Tara isn’t the way that the writer portrayed her.    Andrew Lavallee also makes a major mistake for a journalist…gets the facts wrong and leaves out ‘by design’ the fact that Robert works for PodTech as a VP of Media.  

Update 2: I got an email from the WSJ reporter Andrew Lavallee and he mentioned (via email) that he wanted to highlight Robert as a blogger not a professional industry executive working for PodTech.  

Comments»

1. Social Media Club - » Social Media Now: The Consumer Lesson of Twittermania - March 16, 2007

[…] Others offered personal tales of everything from Twitter addiction to Twitter revulsion (and revulsion, and […]

2. Miss Rogue - March 24, 2007

Hey John…yeah…I read that article and I not only sound bitchy, but I sound like an airhead. I am neither imo. I was actually very positive when I talked to Andrew and I never said that I unsubscribed from Robert at all.

Actually, come to think of it, I’m glad I didn’t unsubscribe from him. His twitters post-SXSW have been awesome.🙂


Leave a Reply

