jump to navigation

Facebook Main Refresh – Give Them a Break July 22, 2008

Posted by John in Technology.
trackback

Eric Eldon writes a good post on Facebook’s new design. One thing that I think he’s on to with this post is that Facebook is targeting Silicon Valley only.

I don’t fully agree that this is true or even a bad thing. Facebook is trying to innovate. The key is to let users stay in control. One think that I hate more than spam is Funwall and Superpokes. I think Facebook needs to think like the old Microsoft. The have an OS on their hands. Treat the applications like they are running on your OS. If they suck don’t let them run on the platform.

I think Facebook developers are doing a decent job. Their developer program ??? that’s an entirely another matter.

Comments»

1. Eric Eldon - July 22, 2008

Thanks for responding, John. I don’t think Facebook is wrong to experiment in this direction (a direction that “serious” users like you and me prefer). I’m just concerned that they’re going in a direction that the majority of their users won’t want. Maybe it will be like when news feeds first came out, and everyone rebelled then got used to it.

2. John Furrier - July 22, 2008

Eric,
I don’t disagree with your post. For me I’m just looking forward to the day when I don’t have to look at all the garbage on there. Like you said lets hope they know Silicon Valley isn’t a proxy for the rest of the world.

In fact sometime Silicon Valley early adopters can give a false sense of security to their momentum. I think that Facebook has enough data to get a good feel from the broader market. Lets hope they are looking at the right data sets🙂


Leave a Reply

