jump to navigation

Advertising is Changing and It’s Big – Content and Community is the Ad July 28, 2008

Posted by John in Technology.
trackback

I read an adage story today about $80 billion dollar online spend figure to be overhyped. I don’t think so.

Here was the best line from the CEO of Publicis, Mark Hass.

“…consumers are also proving effective, if unpredictable, carriers of brand messages…” “Advertising ought to be designed to support the social-media program, because the tip of the marketing spear ought to be the consumer-generated-media piece,” Mr. Hass said. “Let’s see where consumers take the product and brand, and shape advertising and rest of the marketing opportunities around that.”

The big money is flowing from TV to online.  It will be the display money that will remain the same, but the display ad unit will be different.  Why?  The medium is different.  Content is the ad.

The problem is that the technical infrastructure hasn’t caught up with the market need.  All of entrepreneurs better hurry up.

I guess that I’ll continue to bang on the drum – again.  This is the future of online advertising.

Comments»

1. Steve Jobs - July 29, 2008

With fast 3G wireless technology, GPS mapping, support for enterprise features like Microsoft Exchange, and the new App Store, iPhone 3G puts even more features at your fingertips. And like the original iPhone, it combines three products in one — a revolutionary phone, a widescreen iPod, and a breakthrough Internet device with rich HTML email and a desktop-class web browser. iPhone 3G. It redefines what a mobile phone can do — again.

2. John Furrier - July 29, 2008

Thanks Steve, Hope your feeling better. Always great to see you around town. I’ll swing by later to chat at your place. Just text me when you get a chance.

I love the iPhone and think the app store is revolutionary. It builds on the successful paradigm of iTunes. The iPhone is like the Mac in 1983-84 except the innovation is much accelerated. The only issue that I have is the broadband experience sucks. This is not Apple’s fault it’s the carriers. Please cut them into the deal so that we get faster access like video on demand and other great app services.

3. Steve Jobs - July 29, 2008

Brilliant! Tell me more about yourself.

4. Jimmy Johnson - July 30, 2008

Steve fix my iphone. I want faster access and get off ATT’s network.

5. Steve Jobs - July 30, 2008

That’s a noble thought. But there’s a big difference between noble and business. That’s why I’m me and you’re you. Be sure that if I were to cut such a deal I would charge a lot and you would pay it.

6. John Furrier - July 30, 2008

Hi Steve,
Want to know more about me then follow me on twitter, friendfeed, this blog, my new blog BroadDev.com, or Facebook (oh yeah I’m on iTunes). Of course just swing by my place right around from where you live.

7. Steve Jobs - July 31, 2008

I know.


Leave a Reply

