jump to navigation

Blackberry Storm Review “Power User Says Blackberry Storm “No Thanks” I’ll Wait November 21, 2008

Posted by John in social media, Technology.
Tags:
trackback

The big news this week is the Blackberry Storm. I’m even hearing radio spots all over the airwaves. That being said I am not a big Blackberry user so I got an email from a hard core Blackberry user. Here is the feedback from my Blackberry source:

I spent one hour with the Blackberry Storm this morning, and the bottom line is that I don’t like it.

Specifically, the deal-breaker is the typing experience, which is a nightmare compared to any regular full-keyboard Blackberry. Insofar as the comparison isn’t a conventional Blackberry, but rather the iPhone, it’s a closer call, and I may not be the right person to judge because I never liked the iPhone to begin with. However, from what I can tell thus far, the Storm falls short of the iPhone overall, even though it beats it in some aspects. It’s also the case that future software upgrades can change this equation. I will wait for the Blackberry 8900/Curve2 to upgrade (January).

Comments»

1. patrick - November 22, 2008

trying to copy the iPhone…

2. Blackberry Storm Backordered Until At Least December 5th : tinyComb - November 22, 2008

[…] TMCnet, TECH.BLORGE.com, PhoneDog.com Cell …, InformationWeek, Tech Trader Daily, CrunchGear, Furrier.org, Electronista, Wallstrip, CrackBerry.com blogs, PalmAddicts, Reuters and L.A. Times Tech Blog […]

3. rob - November 24, 2008

the suretouch can be disabled so the touchscren doesn’t require pressing down so it works more like an iphone’s screen. i am sooo glad i traded in my ipone for the storm!

4. Angelina - November 26, 2008

I was FIFTH in line at a Circuit City. Did I get a Storm? NO! The THREE that CC did have were for freakin’ new users. I immediately called Verizon and placed an order for it, on Friday, the 21st at 10:13AM. I was told 2-7 days for me to receive it. I followed up on Monday, the 24th and was told the order will be shipped out tomorrow. After yet another call to them, I come to find out, the order wasn’t placed until that Monday I called to follow-up! I guarantee you the stupid b*tch who I spoke to didn’t tell me the order wasn’t placed on Friday and instead placed the damn order that day. I should now expect a shipping date of DECEMBER 8TH!!!!! That’s a full 18 days before it’ll even ship from when I first ordered, IF these imbeciles will do their jobs correctly. Knowing how this horrible launch has happened, I probably won’t get a new phone until the New Year! UGH, so fed up.

5. Joe - November 27, 2008

well aparentl, not sure how acurate this is, but there was a software glitch that caused the first batch so run extremely slow. it was released but only a few were even given out. When i ordered mine they said the backorder and newer version would arrive by the 15th of December. I just got a call from a friend of mine who said i should get it by the 8th of December now. Anyway could just be rumors.

6. Joe - November 27, 2008

I’ve had my Storm 6 days and to say typing is a night mare is well, being kind. There are some things about the Storm that are kinda nice, the bigger screen, the flicking between pages, but typing is just pure misery.

I guess it would not have been so bad, IF I had not tried the Bold. What a great phone that is. The best phone I’ve ever owned.

I’ll give the phone another week, and I’m taking it back to Verzion and switching to AT&T, the only source for the BOLD.

7. MattGGG - November 28, 2008

the typing is awesome very easy to use and much better than iphone i love it

8. call mp3 turkey - December 2, 2008

Check itYou Must Look In This Website

9. Storm lover - December 4, 2008

I’m loving it! It’s a great phone that knocks the iphone outta the game.

10. Mint Kitchen Online - February 23, 2010

I love i phone!


Leave a Reply

