jump to navigation

Steve Jobs Health Memo – Apple MacWorld 2009 – Hormone Imbalance Has Caused Him to Chill A Bit January 5, 2009

Posted by John in Technology.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Update January 14, 2009:  Steve Jobs Steps Down Til June for Health Reasons

I just read at AllThingsD that Steve Jobs has publicly announced that he has a hormone imbalance and that will be preventing him from doing the Keynote at Apple MacWorld 2009.  Steve, in rare form, announced that he is “Chilling Out” with his family rather than preparing for MacWorld 2009.  Good for Steve.  He has poured his heart and soul into Apple and turned that puppy around from the dismal state it was in when he took over over a decade ago.  All the recent health speculation comes to an end now.  Steve will be around for a while.  Being the CEO of any company never mind Apple can be a like a “meat grinder” so it’s great to hear that Steve is taking some time to “chill”.

I got to know Steve’s family over the past few years here in Palo Alto and I’m glad to see that he is focusing on his family while maintaining his CEO post at Apple.

Letter From Apple CEO Steve Jobs

Dear Apple Community,

For the first time in a decade, I’m getting to spend the holiday season with my family, rather than intensely preparing for a Macworld keynote.

Unfortunately, my decision to have Phil deliver the Macworld keynote set off another flurry of rumors about my health, with some even publishing stories of me on my deathbed.

I’ve decided to share something very personal with the Apple community so that we can all relax and enjoy the show tomorrow.

As many of you know, I have been losing weight throughout 2008. The reason has been a mystery to me and my doctors. A few weeks ago, I decided that getting to the root cause of this and reversing it needed to become my #1 priority.

Fortunately, after further testing, my doctors think they have found the cause — a hormone imbalance that has been “robbing” me of the proteins my body needs to be healthy. Sophisticated blood tests have confirmed this diagnosis.

The remedy for this nutritional problem is relatively simple and straightforward, and I’ve already begun treatment. But, just like I didn’t lose this much weight and body mass in a week or a month, my doctors expect it will take me until late this Spring to regain it. I will continue as Apple’s CEO during my recovery.

I have given more than my all to Apple for the past 11 years now. I will be the first one to step up and tell our Board of Directors if I can no longer continue to fulfill my duties as Apple’s CEO. I hope the Apple community will support me in my recovery and know that I will always put what is best for Apple first.

So now I’ve said more than I wanted to say, and all that I am going to say, about this.

Steve

Update:  Apple just posted the announcement on Steve Jobs’ health status on their Apple.com.

Comments»

1. sloane - January 5, 2009

Dr. Tantillo (‘the marketing doctor’) did a post back in July on his branding blog, pointing out that Jobs and Apple are two separate–albeit intertwined–brands. He insisted that while Jobs is irreplaceable, he should address the question of succession Now (well, then, in July) to best secure Apple’s future–and reassure stockholders. It makes sense to at least have a plan in place. And it should go a long way toward helping Jobs relax and have a better chance of healing.
Tantillo’s full post

2. John Furrier - January 5, 2009

Sloane,
Thanks for the link. Agreed that the cobranding of Apple is something that has to be addressed. I think that a slow withdrawl is the best way to go. Steve only has so many hours in the day and if he wants to be healthy he has to make some choices. To me the focus on being the CEO of Apple is job 1 (pun intended). At the end of the day Apple is Steve’s legacy and that is the ultimate branding for him.

3. kathy - January 5, 2009

Is Steve Jobs health my business?

Jobs is a well-known health food fan. He even scratched the veal entree at an important ‘key buyers’ luncheon. The salad was served, and after that came the dessert. No entree. He was not serving veal. Nice.

The closing sentence of Jobs’ letter, says this:

“So now I’ve said more than I wanted to say, and all that I am going to say, about this.” -Steve Jobs

I personally find it odd that the minute a person begins to look gaunt and below a healthy weight, people and the media jump all over it. However, I’d like to take a poll of the number of overweight, heck, obese CEO’s and politicians. All of which the media generally ignore. Obese individuals are at great risk of heart attacks, diabetes and other health ailments, yet the media does not pressure them to confront their health imperfections on a public scale.

I applaud Jobs for communicating his disdain for the pressure-cooker media. I also applaud his hint that he is not going to talk about his health anymore (at least unless it started effecting his work at Apple.)
With Apple selling well over ten million iPhone’s, and still counting, perhaps the media should lay off on the ‘Steve Jobs is dooming Apple.’ stories and stick to the impressive facts on this soaring company.

I posted my thoughts on his health on my blog:
http://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/2009/01/is-steve-jobs-health-your-business.html

4. Shazia - January 21, 2009

Thanks of sharing information about Steve Jobs Health Memo is very reasonable.


Leave a Reply

