Sun is Computer Science – I’m dating myself

There is a story about SUN and their 25th birthday.  I’m dating myself but I programmed in the 80s on SunTools.  Remember that?  I remember to this day the first time I used a SUN workstation and SUNTools – it was the era of LISP and C programming and I was just a young computer science student at Northeastern University.  I was writing a linker/loader that year in my ops system track.  To program on SUN changed my life.  It made me hungry to program in C and ushered in the era of UI based tools on an OS.  The rest is history SUN went on to dominate that is up until open source leveled their franchise.  Oh yeah IBM and HP helped too.

Great memories SUN – please do pick up the action again…what is next for you?

Author: John

Entrepreneur living in Palo Alto California and the Founder of SiliconANGLE Media

One thought on “Sun is Computer Science – I’m dating myself”

Leave a comment