Epic War: Tough Spot for Yahoo; Microsoft Occupation of Silicon Valley??

Mike Arrington had a great post this morning on Yahoo’s decision time.   Love the war reference. Mike agrees that Silicon Valley will be a war zone with collateral damage. The rats are already leaving the ship as predicted by Josh Kopelmans post today.   I’ve always loved Yahoo, but no matter what happens their fate is sealed.

The Microsoft invasion is happening and Google isn’t Netscape. Google is executing. This war will certainly be epic.

I’ve said that you can’t compare this Microsoft to Microsoft of the mid 90’s, and you can’t compare Google today to Netscape of yesterday.  Google is excuting and Yahoo isn’t.  It won’t be an easy fight for Microsoft.

As an aside I received an interesting comment from a Microsoft insider the other day.  He says “Since you’re thinking about MSFT/YHOO, my 2c: First, it’s a $44 billion admission that MS couldn’t get search and advertising right. Second, the culture clash will be dramatic. The only good part about it is that MSN could never decide if it wanted to be Google (alpha engineers) or Yahoo (content gods); now they’ve implicitly chosen the latter. We’ll see if that works. The trailblazers are actually aQuantive. They were assured that the MS engineers would do what the aQuantive biz people decided. Too early to tell if that’ll actually work, but it’ll be a leading indicator for the success of the YHOO acquisition. I’m not sanguine…”

The next logical question in this epic battle is “who is leading the troops for Microsoft”?  Looking at Microsoft leadership (the generals) will speak volumes about their plans to occupy Silicon Valley.  

Author: John

Entrepreneur living in Palo Alto California and the Founder of SiliconANGLE Media

7 thoughts on “Epic War: Tough Spot for Yahoo; Microsoft Occupation of Silicon Valley??”

  1. John,
    I have been enjoying all the yahoo coverage from techcrunch and Siliconalley Insider, but your post have been the most thought provoking. Keep it up. Very provocative blog. Have you considered joining Techcrunch or Silicon Alley Insider?

    I’ve gone back and reread most of your posts and you’ve been calling this Yahoo story perfectly. You have the pulse of the story lines.

    Great work.

  2. Thanks Mitch. I am not doing this like Techcrunch or Silicon Alley. They are branded publishers and doing a fantastic job at it. No I’ve never considered joining Techcrunch or Silicon Alley. Why would I? I already collaborate with them by linking to them. Also their business is blogging for ads; my business is developing startups.

    I use this blog mainly as my editorial views on tech and tech business trends. I am not looking to build a big audience. The focus is not to chase news, but original content on vision, ideas, and opinion (my own) on Silicon Valley, startups, business, and technology.

    In fact, I only write this blog for a specific audience (about 100 specific people). As a strategy (and experiment) I’m actually trying to narrow my audience rather than expand it. It’s working for me and as a result I get some great emails from very connected influencial executives and bloggers all the time.

    Like Dave Winer says having a blog is better than leaving comments on other people blogs. However I do leave comments on certain blogs and posts because their might be a good conversation worth chiming in and adding to the bloggers content (post).

  3. I like quoted insider’s take that the offer is an, ‘admission of failure’. Very incisive.

    I was also very interested in a quote I gathered when interviewing some mid-level Yahoos; it seems there was trouble way before:

    Folks on the inside had a creeping feeling well before this debacle that something was amiss at the Big Purple. It’s a quote in my article, which I wont link to here, but you know how to get there.

    I really wanted to dig deeper at that one quote, ‘…long before the layoffs, long before the MS buy, things were not right, the shakeup started long before these upheavals”.

    But it was late. Point is, forget the buyer, there was a worm eating its way through Yahoo’s heart, starting around Semel’s time.

  4. Alan,
    Leave the link for the users…

    Everyone is blaming Terry Semel (who might have been the wrong guy) but new information is that some people are talking about their ex-COO Dan Rosensweig as someone who caused the problems.

    I never met the guy nor do I know what he did. That is rumor around town. I’ll let others follow that story. I’m not interested in past stuff but what will happen.

Leave a Reply

