P2P Bittorent or Media Performance Enhancements will happen

I was reading a post about how Mark Cuban is saying that bittorent will die.   I think that is BS.  BitTorren, P2P, or media delivery enhancements has to happen.  With the demand and explosion of user video the net will move to video all the time.  Until then CDNs are used by all the big and growing media companies.  That being said if you look at the prices of CDN bandwidth you will see a massive drop in prices over the past year.  In my opinion this is due to the uptake of bittorrent and other p2p technologies.  

In an another blog post on Gigaom Om Malik points out that Adobe has ambitions to embed P2P into their flash player.  This is a no brainer.  The only problem that I see is that one of Adobe’s partners might be VeriSign.  What value does VeriSign bring to the table?  They are putting out a proported grid distribution system.  I have been watching VeriSign for sometime and I’ve been generally impressed with their ability in ‘naming’ but I haven’t seen anything good come out from them in 5 years.   I will say that there was a VeriSign employee talking up the ‘grid system’ atthe PodTech BlogHaus at CES and he mentioned that they had a lot of mobile carriers on board. 

Author: John

Entrepreneur living in Palo Alto California and the Founder of SiliconANGLE Media

One thought on “P2P Bittorent or Media Performance Enhancements will happen”

Leave a comment